Her pulmonologist appointment went amazing!! We FINALLY get to start weaning her!!!!! Literally a year and a week after her trach was placed we’ve gotten to the wean process. So the process goes like this. First we turn off her breathe rate (so she’s doing all the breathing on her own with only pressure support from the machine) for one hour in the morning and  one hour in the afternoon. Then every 5-7 day we up it by an hour until we get to five hours which should be all of her waking hours off the ventilator! Then on May 26th we go back to the clinic and they will cap her for an hour and she how she does with no support at all. If all goes well then we will take her completely off the machine for one hour in the morning and one hour in the afternoon. Then the process goes exactly like the breathe rate process then I’m not sure what happens exactly. I think that’s when we get to cap her during naps and then overnight until she’s off full time. So folks there is light at the end of the tunnel!

It’s been 6 days since her appointment and she’s done fantastic off the breathe rate and I got to bump her up to 2 hours today and she also did fantastic with that as well. Her breathing rate (on her own) has been in the normal range, no desating, and her heart rate has been steady with no retracting or having issues breathing. Every session I do something different with her so I know her reactions. Like I’ll do a session and do physical therapy at the same time or occupational therapy while she’s off the breathe rate. Also playtime and tummytime and she’s aced all of these. KNOCK ON WOOD! I am so excited about the end of the month I hope this month goes smoothly and we can get to the end of the month like now lol.

On another note I have further proof that I have an open nice face because the lady in line in front of me in Meijer basically used me as a therapist while in line. Telling me about her anxiety and how this was the first time she’s been out of the house in a month. So I told her I was proud of her and that I know how much anxiety sucks and just giving her praise for getting out of the house. My only regret is that I wasn’t wearing my shirt that says “Please keep talking I’m diagnosing you”. Really sweet lady I’ll probably never see her again in my life but I hope she gets better.

