I count myself very lucky. Even through the last two years, I still feel lucky. From the two months of strict bed rest to the the 225 days in the NICU to the over a year journey of Katie being on a ventilator, still I feel lucky. There were so many times things could have gone wrong, where we could have lost this precious little ball of fists but she made it through. I consider that lucky. Now that we are about half way through weaning I’m getting a chance to do more things with her, such as walk around outside without her hooked to anything and getting to take her out to other people’s houses. It’s been awesome and frustrating at the same time. The weaning process is fast but at the same time slow because there is different stages you have to do before she’s off the trach permanently. Even through all this I still feel lucky. She’s doing better than I expected and kicking ass and taking names. 🙂 Part of the reason I haven’t been posting much is with her being off the vent all day now, we actually get a chance to be somewhat normal.

I started blogging because I thought it would help with my mental health and also so other NICU parents or parents of a preemie can see they aren’t alone but slowly it’s been morphing into more of my thoughts and a celebration of Katie’s life and progress.  I hope I can keep this up because one day I’d like her to see what I’ve written about her and know how much she’s loved and how much she’s changed me. She is my super hero. IMG_4692.JPG

 

IMG_4727.JPG
I love my cups lady!
