Katie has a g-tube and while it’s awesome because I can make sure she gets all the calories she needs and the proper amount of vitamins etc. I fucking hate it. She’s got an extremely strong oral aversion and if you try to feed her orally she fights you and starts sobbing which of course isn’t great when you’re trying to make her like feed time and trying to convince her it’s fun to eat. She has a feeding evaluation at the end of the month and I hope on all that is holy that they figure this child out because so far I’m failing at an epic level.

The other issue with the g-tube is she pukes….a lot but it goes in cycles she’ll keep all her food down for weeks then she’ll go into a week long cycle of puking normally there’s a cause, she’s teething, she’s congested, allergy season, she got moved too quickly after being fed, was too active while getting her feed etc. but other times like this week it’s none of that and I have to sit her and struggle to find the problem and fix it so we can get her to keep her food down and I just want to pull my hair out. My husband gets pissed off when she pukes so that doesn’t help (he never does anything bad to us he just storms out to the garage), I fully believe he is also suffering from PTSD but he won’t get on the medication to help him. Anyhow this just plain old sucks and the day she eats orally full time consistently I swear to God I’m going to down a bottle of wine in celebration and then pass out on the kitchen floor because I don’t drink. lol

In the end Katie is still getting the calories she needs, so she isn’t losing weight but my god this is beyond frustrating and I wish that she didn’t have to go through all this crap.

